Daily Sunrise Fix

It wasn’t the easiest to get out for a run in the morning. I suppose that is the consequence of my recent increase in duration. However it has become a reflex by now and so there is no question if I do or not. Unless I am feeling tired or something is hurting I put on my clothes and go run.

I’m starting to notice, especially in the beginning of my runs, it is much harder to reach the 144 heartrate, at least on the beach. I feel super comfy for at least the first 5-15 minutes to just run around 139.

Of course it was a perfect start … to the end of the beach with the sunrise and spectacular clouds and I had planned to take it super easy today …

… then at the end of the beach there are the stairs of hell and I found myself climbing up and to the top of the hill …

wp-1464072372825.jpg
Halfway point

Well that’s that for the low heartrate … so the story of today’s run ends with me running around the hill, catching breath to check that Dublin is still there in the far distance and running downhill (my favourite part). Only down-hills I run like a Kenyan – 180 step rate, lightning fast (in my head). (Don’t try this if you haven’t trained this for a long time, it will trash your quads, ankles and whatever else you’ve never used before).

After 70 minutes I was back to where I started and since I had completely messed up the heartrate I decided it was enough and headed home. Still I did average an HR of 144 … I did walk the hills and stairs … oh and I didn’t reach the “red zone of death” on my Garmin … that should all count for something.

12 Replies to “Daily Sunrise Fix”

  1. “Unless I am feeling tired or something is hurting I put on my clothes and go run.”

    So if you are feeling tired or hurting you don’t bother with the clothes?

    Sorry … couldn’t resist

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I run 6 days a week. Sunday is off for recovery. I do alternate duration though. Mondays I run for 40 minutes which is my easy day. Then it is double that of Tuesday. Rinse and repeat until my 2 hr run on Saturdays. This works well with the ratios and recovery

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment